Bristol Myers Squibb and Lyfebulb announce 10 finalists chosen for the Lyfebulb-Bristol Myers Squibb “Addressing Unmet Needs in MS: An Innovation Challenge.”

During March 10-11, the following finalists will compete virtually for a grant of $25,000 to further develop their ideas and concepts that will address the unmet needs of people who are experiencing multiple sclerosis (MS). This award will also assist in raising an overall awareness about this chronic disease.

  • Angie Conley, Founder and CEO of Abilitech Medical
  • Jason DaSilva, Founder and President of AXS Lab
  • Luanne Dibernardo, Founder and CEO of Oro Sports
  • Peter Grande, Co-Founder of MUVE
  • David Hojah, CEO of Parrots
  • Lucy Jones, Founder and CEO of FFORA
  • David Lyons, Founder and Director of MS Fitness Challenge
  • Pierluigi Mantovani, CEO of Evolution Devices
  • Tish Scolnik, Co-Founder and CEO of GRIT
  • Brooke Slick, Founder and Product Developer of Dashco

“Patients are innovators and problem-solvers. Each of these finalists is an attestation to the power of patient entrepreneurship as they have taken their hardships of living with disease – or observing it in a loved one – and have turned those insights into business solutions to help other members of the MS community. We are excited to bring together these inspirational leaders with our expert panel of judges and members of the Lyfebulb and Bristol Myers Squibb teams for an engaging and interactive two-day summit.”

— Dr Karin Hehenberger, CEO and Founder of Lyfebulb

Virtual Innovation Challenge

As a Patient Entrepreneur, each of the finalists has been personally affected by multiple sclerosis as either a patient, a support partner, or by having had a loved one diagnosed with the disease. During the virtual Innovation Challenge in March, each finalist will be given the opportunity to pitch their solution to a diverse cross section of professionals from across the MS, healthcare and business worlds. The panel judges will include:

  • Tim Coetzee, PhD, Chief Advocacy, Services and Research Officer at National Multiple Sclerosis Society
  • Kate Cronin, Global CEO of Ogilvy Health
  • Teresa Wright Johnson, MS Patient Ambassador at Lyfebulb and Inspirational Speaker
  • Darin T. Okuda, MD, MS, FAAN, FANA, Director of the Neuroinnovation Program and Director of the Multiple Sclerosis and Neuroimmunology Imaging Program at UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Stephen Squinto, PhD, Executive Partner at OrbiMed and Co-Founder of Alexion

“MS is an ever-changing disease, and Bristol Myers Squibb is grateful to be partnering with Lyfebulb in supporting the entrepreneurs and creators who are looking for inventive new ways to better the lives of those who are living with this unpredictable disease.”

— Tina Deignan, Vice President and US Business Unit Head of Immunology at Bristol Myers Squibb

For further information about the 2021 MS Innovation Challenge, visit Lyfebulb.

[Source(s): Lyfebulb, PR Newswire]

Related Content:
MS Innovation Challenge Aims to Address Unmet Needs