In a recent news release, the University of St Augustine for Health Sciences (USA) reports that two of its faculty members were recipients of awards from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), which administers national physical therapy licensure examinations.

The first of the two faculty members, Debra L. Gray, PT, DHSc, DPT, MEd, (above, left) is manager of USA’s Flexible Doctor of Physical Therapy programs. The release notes that Gray received an Outstanding Service Award, which is intended to honor individuals who have made a significant contribution to the FSBPT in the past year. Gray has more than 30 years of clinical experience in a variety of settings with an emphasis on home care and geriatrics. The release adds that in addition to her 5 years of volunteering with the FSBPT, Gray serves as an on?site reviewer for the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education and as a trainer for the American Physical Therapy Association’s Clinical Instructor Education Programs. She received her BS in Physical Therapy from Wayne State University, a Master of Education from the University of Wisconsin, a Doctor of Physical Therapy from Simmons College, and a Doctor of Health Science from the University of Indianapolis.

Second faculty member Chris Childers, PT, MS, GCS, (above, right) was named to the Academy of Advanced Item Writers, which is intended to recognize individuals who write high-quality questions for the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE). The release notes that Childers is a full-time faculty member on the USA San Marcos, Calif-based campus and maintains her clinical skills through home health visits to older adult patients. In January, Childers was appointed to a 4-year term on the Geriatric Specialty Council of the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialists. She earned her bachelor’s degree in Physiotherapy from the University of East Anglia, her master’s in Gerontology from the University of Utah, and is working on her PhD in Health Psychology from Walden University.

[Source: University of St Augustine]