The Foundation for Physical Therapy (FPT) has announced the recipients of its 2014 Service Awards, which recognize individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a strong commitment to supporting the FPT and its mission to fund physical therapy research. The recipients of this year’s awards will be honored during the FPT’s 35th Anniversary Gala on June 12, 2014, in Charlotte, NC. The 2014 award recipients are the Magistro Family Foundation and Alan M. Jette, PT, PhD, FAPTA.

The Magistro Family Foundation will be given the Spirit of Philanthropy award, which recognizes donors with a proven record of generosity in support of the Foundation and its mission. The FPT news release notes that individuals given this honor have not only lent their direct financial support, but have also encouraged and motivated others in philanthropy.

Charles M. Magistro, PT, DrSci (Hon), DPT (Hon), FAPTA, and his family donated $1 million in 2005 to create the Magistro Family Endowment Fund, which funds an annual research grant. With an additional 2012 donation, the fund now exceeds $2 million.

The Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service award will be given to Alan M. Jette, PT, PhD, FAPTA. This award is presented each year to an individual for outstanding service and personal commitment toward promoting the Foundation’s goals. The person who receives this award has made a significant impact on the foundation through his or her leadership and guidance, as indicated on the FPT news release.

Jette currently serves as chair of the foundation’s Scientific Advisory Committee. In addition, the FPT news release notes that Jette has been instrumental in the inception and development of the FPT’s fellowship, scholarship, and grant programs, specifically conceptualizing the New Investigator Fellowship Training Initiative-Health Services Research (NIFTI-HSR).

William G. Boissonnault, PT, DPT, DHSc, FAPTA, FAAOMPT, president of the FPT, states, “On behalf of the Board of Trustees, we thank our 2014 Service Award recipients for their dedication and tireless efforts to strengthen the Foundation. The leadership, generosity, and creativity of this year’s awardees have been instrumental to the continued success of the Foundation.”

[Source: Foundation for Physical Therapy]